Tennessee OKs new towing law related to uninsured driversBy Brandon L. Guidry | January 22, 2016
Tennessee House Bill 606, enacted on May 20, 2015, gives law enforcement entities the option of towing a vehicle if a driver is unable to provide proof of insurance. The law, which went into effect on January 1, 2016, also increases the minimum penalty for not carrying proof of insurance to $300 from $100. Legislators hope the new law will reduce the number of uninsured drivers—estimated at 660,000—currently driving in Tennessee.
When a law enforcement officer stops a driver who cannot show proof of insurance, the officer will not be required to have the vehicle towed. However, the officer will now have the option of having the driver’s vehicle towed if the jurisdiction in which the officer is employed has adopted a policy and set of procedures for enforcing the new law.
Tagged with: , , ,