Auto

New Jersey proof-of-insurance requirements

New Jersey law requires every driver or operator of a vehicle to have a registration certificate and an insurance identification card on hand at all times. The state issued a Motor Vehicle Advisory on March 21, 2017,...

TN Requests Carriers to Include NAICs on Insurance ID Cards

DOR has informed carriers they are running into problems in attempting to verify NAIC numbers when a motorist contacts them for assistance. These problems include: Customer doesn’t know or cannot locate the NAIC numbe...

Tennessee HB 280 Signed into Law

William Haslam signed House Bill 280 into law on March 22. The bill extends the time given to respond to a Department of Revenue (DOR) request for information regarding motorists suspected of not having proper auto...

Arkansas HB 2193 Signed into Law

Arkansas Governor William Asa Hutchinson signed House Bill 2193 into law on April 6. The bill repeals the current Insurance Verification Database enacted in 1997 and replaces it with the Arkansas Online Insurance...

Arkansas now supports FTP file submissions

The Arkansas Office of Driver Services announced that its auto liability insurance reporting system can now support FTP file submissions. The announcement was made during an industrywide conference call on March 23,...

What now for soft tissue injury claims

On 23 February 2017, less than seven weeks after the government consultation aimed at reducing whiplash claims ended , the Ministry of Justice published part 1 of their response to the consultation . It’s said that pa...

MSVIVS Ramping Up

MSVIVS – OLV Testing In addition to requiring a book of business (BoB) file by the first Tuesday of each month, Mississippi is currently testing the online verification (OLV) portion of the new Mississippi Vehicle...

Telematics holds the potential for improved safety and lower claims

Americans drove a combined 3.1 trillion miles over 12 months through March 2016. With drivers traveling more miles, the potential for accidents increases. The National Safety Council reported that in 2015 “the U.S. ha...

South Carolina uninsured motorists can pay to drive

South Carolina will allow uninsured motorists to operate vehicles in the state if they pay an annual fee of $550, according to Bulletin 2016-11, which the state released on Dec. 20, 2016. The state said it will place...

Pennsylvania Plate Readers

Pennsylvania discontinued its practice of issuing license plate registration stickers effective Jan. 1, 2017. To confirm that a motorists ’s vehicle registration is current and properly insured, the state now will rel...