Smartphone technology facilitating customer collaboration with insurers

Until very recently, documenting home or motor damage or creating a spreadsheet of stolen property had been best left to insurance professionals. Now, our customers can be collaborators who can do some or all of that documentation themselves. The involvement of customers is set to transform the way claims are handled. The ubiquity of smartphones […]

New Jersey proof-of-insurance requirements

New Jersey law requires every driver or operator of a vehicle to have a registration certificate and an insurance identification card on hand at all times. The state issued a Motor Vehicle Advisory on March 21, 2017, indicating that motorists may provide either electronic or paper insurance identification cards as proof of insurance. Cell phones, tablets, […]

TN Requests Carriers to Include NAICs on Insurance ID Cards

DOR has informed carriers they are running into problems in attempting to verify NAIC numbers when a motorist contacts them for assistance.  These problems include: Customer doesn’t know or cannot locate the NAIC number The NAIC number isn’t listed on the insurance card. NAIC number is listed on the policy but it is labeled “Customer […]

Tennessee HB 280 Signed into Law

William Haslam signed House Bill 280 into law on March 22.  The bill extends the time given to respond to a Department of Revenue (DOR) request for information regarding motorists suspected of not having proper auto insurance coverage.  Previously the response time was 15 days; it is now 30 days. HB 280 also established a […]

MSVIVS Ramping Up

MSVIVS – OLV Testing In addition to requiring a book of business (BoB) file by the first Tuesday of each month, Mississippi is currently testing the online verification (OLV) portion of the new Mississippi Vehicle Insurance Verification System (MSVIVS). The 6 month pilot program for OLV services is expected to begin once the state reaches […]

South Carolina uninsured motorists can pay to drive

South Carolina will allow uninsured motorists to operate vehicles in the state if they pay an annual fee of $550, according to Bulletin 2016-11, which the state released on Dec. 20, 2016. The state said it will place collected funds in the Uninsured Motorist Fund and distribute it among insurers writing motor vehicle bodily injury […]